Print this page

Recognition & Awards

The significance of nursing to the mission and vision of an organization is overtly recognized in a Magnet setting.  Recognition for the contribution of nurses is built into the structure and process of operations.

St. Joseph’s  nurses demonstrate excellence through their clinical expertise and extraordinary compassionate care. They are recognized in many ways as outstanding caregivers and professionals.  

St. Joseph’s University Medical Center has been listed as one of the 30 Most Nurse-Friendly Hospitals in the United States by “Top RN to BSN a leading online information source for current and prospective nursing students.

Nursing Excellence Award – An annual award given during Nurses Week by the RN peers of the Nurse Practice Council to staff nurses who exemplify and consistently demonstrate evidence of high-quality practice, excellent outcomes and commitment to professional development.

Daisy Foundation Award - A partnership with the Barnes Family’s foundation provides on-going recognition of the clinical skill and especially the compassion the St. Joseph’s nurses demonstrate at the bedside. Patients, families and co-workers nominate these nurses and winners are chosen quarterly by the Nurse Practice Council.

RN STARS Program – A formal clinical ladder program to promote professional development of the direct care nurse. The program serves to define, develop, evaluate and reward various levels of clinical nursing expertise.

S - St. Joseph’s Health

T - Transforming Care through Evidence-Based Practice

A - Advancement of Practice through Quality

R - Relationship-Based Care

S - Service to Self and Others

National Nurses Week – An annual celebration in May recognizing St. Joseph’s  nurses’ contribution, commitment and dedication to patients and families, the community, the organization and the professional nursing.

National Certification Celebration – An annual dinner/dance celebration in March honoring the nurses who have achieved national certification in their specialty recognizing their expertise and leadership.  Awards given to nursing units that achieved the highest percentage of certified nurses.

Copyright © 2018 St. Joseph's Health